Love, the driving force: a journey of discernment

Chronicling my formation with the Loretto Sisters (IBVM)

Advent

Leave a comment

I live my Advent in the womb of Mary,

And on one night when a great star swings free

from its high mooring and walks down the sky

to the dot above the Christus i,

I shall be born of her by blessed grace.

I wait in Mary darkness, faith’s walled place,

With hope’s expectance of nativity.

I knew for long she carried me and fed me,

guarded and loved me, though I could not see.

But only now, with inward jubilee,

I come upon earth’s most amazing knowledge:

someone is hidden in this dark with me.

– Jessica Powers, OCD (Discalced Carmelites)

Leave a Reply

